Rush Announces Reissue Of 'Permanent Waves' For Album's 40th Anniversary

Photo of Geddy LEE and RUSH and Alex LIFESON and Neil PEART

Photo of Geddy LEE and RUSH and Alex LIFESON and Neil PEART

Rush has announced a box set reissue of its seventh studio album, Permanent Waves, coming March 27.

The expanded set comes in celebration of the album's 40th anniversary. The Super Deluxe edition includes three vinyl albums and two CDs, including the 2015 remaster of the original album along with previously unreleased live material from the 'Permanent Waves' tour.

In addition to the music, the super deluxe set will also include reproductions of tour programs and a 40-page hardcover book with unreleased photos, liner notes, replica backstage laminates, a poster and Neil Peart lyrics sheets.

Permanent Waves marked the end of Rush's pure prog period, featuring more concise song arrangements that made the music more viable for radio play. The album was well-received by critics and became Rush's most successful LP to date, peaking at No. 4 in the U.S. on the strength of hits like "The Spirit of Radio" and "Freewill."

You can listen to a live version of "Spirit of Radio" from the 'Permanent Waves' tour in the player below.

Photo: Getty Images

The Bear 92.9 · Northern Colorado's Classic Rock

Listen Now on iHeartRadio

outbrain pixel